Checker Flag Raceway Track Facts

1960: The Pratt Raceway go-kart track opened.

1961: The go-kart track was reconfigured to a 1/4 mile flat dirt track &renamed Checker Flag Raceway. Francis Pratt, Herman Modlinsky and Dennis Fauteux were the original owners. Vintage 1930's – 1940's cars competed under the sanction of the Western Ontario Stock Car Racing Association (W.O.S.C.R.A.).

1966: The track was expanded to a 1/3 mile oval with banked turns. One thousand new seats were added in the grandstands. Herman Modlinsky passed away and Francis Pratt sells his share to Gary and Ron Fauteux.

1967: The Semi-Late Model Division was added. The Coupes from previous years became the Sportsman Division.

1969 The track was modified once again to a 3/8 mile oval with banked turns. Again, more seating was added to the grandstands. Racers: Stan Earish, Don Dame, Johnny Banks, Harry Bolton, Jim Vandelinder, Barry Brush, Leo Lucier, Steve Miller, Joe Holden, Louis Haggith, and Jack Monaghan were the stars of the dirt track along with many others.

1974: The new owners, John Fahringer, Mark Kable and Jack Monaghan made a lot of changes to the track including, the track was paved with 18 degree banking, new lighting, new concrete retaining walls and new fencing were among the major improvements. Export "A" and Molson Breweries were the new primary sponsors. The track was now sanctioned by Nascar and the name was changed to Checker Flag International Speedway. Late Models, Street Stocks and Factory Stock Divisions were added. Events such as Demolition Derbies, Roll-A-Thons, Figure 8's, Hot Dog Derbies and Paul Riddells' Hell Drivers were extremely popular.

1977: Tom Hannah becomes the promoter through 1979.

1978: Russell Woods, Mike Duffy, Rob Young, Jim Lucier, Len Couvillon, Mark Desjardins, Dave Bulmer, Al Delisle and Wayne Monk along with many others were standouts in the Factory Stock Division.

1980: The Super Late Model Division was the main attraction. Drivers: Don "The Tazmanian Devil" Mallot, Bobby Merrifield, Frank Charette, Barney Brant, Rusty Banks, Don Biederman, Larry LaMay, Jr. Hanley and Jack "Speedy" Monaghan were the stars of Checker Flag Speedways' asphalt era. Countless others were very popular with the fans. The traveling series named "The Export A Racing Series" made a stop at Checker Flag Speedway. Export "A" regulars such as, Jerry Makara, Joe Ruttman, Norm Lelliott, Howie Scannell, Harold Brown and Earl Ross were fierce competitors on the asphalt.

1983: Checker Flag Speedway was sold to Bob Robinson, the previous promoter.

1984: Late Model Sportsman, Thunder Cars and Thumpers were the new divisions. Once again, the name was changed to "Checker Flag Motor Speedway".

1985: The Canadian National Stock Car Division was the premiere attraction.

1990: Attendance begins to dwindle, the end is near.

1992: The tracks name was changed for the last time to "Windsor Speedway". This would prove to be the last racing season for the (Checker Flag) Speedway. After 32 years of providing continuous family entertainment, the track was sold for the adjoining subdivision. RIP old friend.

Article by John Lucier